… A major milestone in Nigeria’s Hydrographic capabilities – Matawalle

The Honourable Minister of State for Defence, H. E. Dr. Bello Muhammad Matawalle MON, has inaugurated the Governing Council of the National Hydrographic Agency (NHA) describing it as a significant milestone in Nigeria’s Hydrography as it will enhance the hydrographic capabilities of the nation water ways.

The National Hydrographic Agency is responsible for hydrographic surveying and nautical charting, providing critical data for maritime navigation, national defence, and various marine activities. The establishment of the Governing Council signifies a major step toward the efforts of President Bola Ahmed Tinubu’s administration to improve the management and regulation of the nation’s water resources.

According to the Minister, the Governing Council, comprising key stakeholders from various Ministries and agencies, would provide strategic oversight and ensure Nigeria’s hydrographic activities align with global best practices.

“This alignment is crucial for supporting the country’s economic, social, and environmental development goals,” he said.

In his remarks, Dr. Matawalle emphasized the significance of the Council’s inauguration, saying: “Today’s inauguration demonstrates our commitment to fostering knowledge, expertise, and resources to address the complex challenges facing our nation’s water sector and unlock its vast potential.”

The Council approved several key initiatives, including the acquisition of a temporary headquarters, employment of civilian staff, and nomination of three Ex-officio members, subject to presidential approval.

Matawalle further explained that the inauguration of the new board was a great initiative towards advancing Nigeria’s hydrographic and maritime capabilities.

“This has also demonstrated government’s commitment to effective management of the nation’s hydrographic resources,” he explained.

The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Defence, Dr. Ibrahim Abubakar Kana mni, reiterated the Minister’s view, saying: “The establishment of this Council is a pivotal step towards enhancing our national hydrographic infrastructure and ensuring sustainable management of our marine resources.”

The board has the Minister of State for Defence as Chairman, other board members includes: The Minister of Transportation, Minister of Justice, Minister of Finance, Chief of Defence Staff, Chief of Naval Staff, Surveyor General of the Federation and three Ex-officio as Members, and the Hydrographer of the Federation as Secretary of the board.

Henshaw Ogubike Mnipr FCAi Fsca Fcpe
Director (Information and Public Relations)


More Posts